The Francken Dynasty

FUTURE EXHIBITION
24 October 2020 - 14 February 2021
Suitable for all visitors

Today a name stands out from the Frankish dynasty, that of Frans Francken the Younger (1581-1642) considered to be an outstanding artist. This contemporary of Rubens is distinguished by his unique, refined style, by the diversity of subjects he tackled and by his prolific output which flooded the Antwerp market.

Trained by his father Frans the Elder, a renowned religious painter, he asserted his personality and taste for learning very early on: his works include multiple references to history and literature, and even esoteric sources. His fine artworks responded to the demands of the bourgeois wishing to demonstrate their knowledge: his success was immediate. A studio was then set up, a real commercial enterprise which called on famous collaborators from time to time such as Jan Brueghel and who also employed his brothers and sons.

In Flanders, the mode of apprenticeship based on the medieval tradition of craft guilds encouraged artistic filiation. So, the Francken dynasty is a story of several generations of artists united by blood ties and a common expertise. Although Frans Francken the Elder and Ambrosius Francken I revealed their talent through spectacular religious triptychs, Hieronymus Francken I rose to the prestigious position of painter to the King of France. 

Each followed their own path based on the proposals received and their inclinations, while benefiting from a brand, the Francken brand!

 

back to top

La dynastie Francken

EXPOSITION À VENIR
24 octobre 2020 - 14 février 2021
Tous publics

De la dynastie Francken ressort aujourd’hui un nom, celui de Frans II Francken (1581-1642) considéré comme un artiste hors norme. Ce contemporain de Rubens se démarque par son style raffiné et singulier, par la diversité des sujets abordés et par une production abondante qui inondera le marché anversois.

Formé par son père Frans I, peintre d’église renommé, il affirme très tôt sa personnalité par son goût pour l’érudition : il multiplie ainsi les références à l’histoire, à la littérature voire même aux sources ésotériques. Son art délicat répond à la quête des bourgeois désireux de faire montre de leurs connaissances : le succès est immédiat.  Se met alors en place un atelier, véritable entreprise commerciale qui fait appel ponctuellement à des collaborateurs réputés comme Jan Brueghel mais qui emploie aussi et surtout ses frères et ses fils.

En Flandre, le mode d’apprentissage fondé sur la tradition médiévale des métiers et des corporations favorise la filiation artistique. La dynastie Francken c’est donc l’histoire de plusieurs générations d’artistes unis par les liens du sang et par un savoir commun. Si Frans I et Ambrosius I dévoileront leur talent dans la production de spectaculaires triptyques religieux, Hieronymus I accédera au titre prestigieux de peintre du roi de France. 

Chacun suit son propre chemin selon les propositions et les envies tout en bénéficiant d’une marque, celle des Francken !

Retour en haut de page